deutschBlack Forest info in english
black-forest-travel.com

The Klausenhof open-air museum in Herrischried

Klausenhof
Photo: The Klausenhof

Information in brief

Description

The Klausenhof was built in 1424 and is therefore one of the oldest preserved houses in the Black Forest. The Klausenhof, which is located in Herrischried-GroƟherrischwand, stood empty for a lengthy period and was threatened with collapse. However, the house was saved and turned into an open-air museum.

The Klausenhof can be viewed inside and out and offers interesting insights into life and work in a bygone age. Further objects which are well worth seeing, e.g. a sawmill, bakery, village smithy, wagon house and cottage garden, have been integrated in the open-air museum over the years.

village smithy
Photo: Village smithy

Opening hours

Further information

Advertising